androidterew.blogg.se

Trim enabler mac snow leopard
Trim enabler mac snow leopard








trim enabler mac snow leopard
  1. #Trim enabler mac snow leopard how to#
  2. #Trim enabler mac snow leopard for mac#
  3. #Trim enabler mac snow leopard install#
  4. #Trim enabler mac snow leopard update#

#Trim enabler mac snow leopard how to#

After a restart it also changed automatically the ownership of the user's files? How to Enable the "root" Account on Mac OS X The link target may have a completely different uid.

trim enabler mac snow leopard

It's very important to use "chown -h" instead of "chown".

trim enabler mac snow leopard

Finally, I've updated the guide according to your hint. Also uses xargs to execute the chown command as few times as possible. This one might be a little more complete. Hi all, Anyone can help me with this? Anonymous says: Nov 18, AM. Adding it to delicious now! Anonymous says: Nov 03, PM. Took me a while to find it but wanted to make sure others could find it easily. For some reason, chown wasn't in my path and couldn't find it since the locatedb wasn't properly loaded. I also changed the gid PrimaryGroupID to match and did the same thing for the chgrp call. One thing to add is the chown call should be chown -h or if you have any symlinks then they end up beloning to the old userid. I'm guessing some processes got confused by the changed UIDs and needed a fresh start. I logged into one of the affected accounts immediately after moving everything around and everything was wonky no Desktop, no Finder, etc. The only thing I'd add is to reboot after all the chown-ing and mv-ing is done. I just used this on Just wanted to say thanks! The procedure worked just as described. Excellent article, thanks! Enable The Root Account What modifications are needed for I have tested the above info in Snow, however I have a few users in I'm sorry but I can't test that because I don't have a machine running Tiger any more.

  • Enabling Root User – The Mac OS X 10.4 and Earlier Method?.
  • #Trim enabler mac snow leopard for mac#

  • best word processor for mac snow leopard!.
  • #Trim enabler mac snow leopard install#

    Remediation Jobs Error: Installer: Must Be Run as Root to Install This Package – GFI Support.How to enable TRIM on third-party SSDs in OS X.Forgot Admin account / Root (System Administrator) Password on Mac OS X ?.This will turn your shell into a "root shell" so you don't need to enable the root user or hack in "sudo" again and again which can be quite annoying.

    trim enabler mac snow leopard

    Another option, of course, is to use "sudo -s" or "sudo -i". Yet another sudo discussion? But sometimes I tend to use the root account, especially when I have to use lots of admin commands - or write some how-to that should be easy to use. It's usually a matter of personal preference. Also, with sudo, there's no chance I'll forget to disable root when I'm done. I didn't mention it earlier, but I used sudo for this entire process as well. Thanks for your hint, Tim! Great discussion guys. It turned out that there were too many files and folders which carried in their names without being related to the uid anyhow but only a few to none I don't remember relevant ones that should have been renamed. In the end, using sudo or the root user is mostly just a matter of preference. Using the root user, you don't run into the mentioned problems entering folders that you don't have access to. But for this guide I think it's best to use the root user over the sudo approach because using sudo implies that you work as a different non-privileged user what may but doesn't necessarily have to be the case. A useful guide - thanks! Personally, as an old Linux guy I prefer working as root. In this case, do a "sudo mv" but you'll have to put the directory name in as well. With sudo, it appeared impossible to enter some directories where there was a file needing renaming. I used sudo rather than root for this process. Thanks for your hint! Anonymous says: Jan 26, AM. Thanks so much for this guide! Thanks again! Anonymous says: Feb 02, PM.

    #Trim enabler mac snow leopard update#

    Update Still works with Sierra Update Just used the steps above on a Mojave Mac Filed under: Mac OS X. Update This is still working on Update I recently used this procedure on OS X Worked as expected.

  • Enable root User in Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard!.









  • Trim enabler mac snow leopard